Observer Resources


The Observers Collaborative recently updated the Observer Report form in order to create a more streamlined and secure data collection process. Observers received instructions and a link to the new submission form in early February 2024. If you have questions or need the submission instructions or link re-sent, please contact:

NOTE: Observers must complete the Observers Collaborative training program prior to submitting Observer Reports.

Licking County local government

A selection of local boards and government bodies


Licking County Commissioners

Licking County Planning Commission

Licking County Board of Health

Licking County Board of Elections


Newark City Council

Newark Planning Commission

Newark Zoning Board

Heath City Council

Heath Planning Commission

Heath Zoning Board

Pataskala City Council

Pataskala Planning Commission

Johnstown City Council

Johnstown Planning Board


Alexandria Village Council

Granville Village Council

Granville Planning Commission

Granville Zoning Board

Granville Township Trustees

Hanover Village Council

Hartford Village

Hebron Village Council

Utica Village Council

school boards

Granville School Board

Heath School Board

Johnstown-Monroe School Board

Lakewood School Board

Licking Heights School Board

Licking Valley School Board

Newark School Board

North Fork School Board

Northridge School Board

Southwest Licking School Board


Bowling Green Township Trustees

Eden Township Trustees

Etna Township Trustees

Franklin Township Trustees

Granville Township Trustees

Harrison Township Trustees

Hartford Township Trustees

Hopewell Township Trustees

Fallsbury Township Trustees

Jersey Township Trustees

Licking Township Trustess

Madison Township Trustees

Mary Ann Township Trustees

McKean Township Trustees

Monroe Township Trustees

Newark Township Trustees

Newton Township Trustees

Perry Township Trustees

St. Albans Township Trustees

Washington Township Trustees

Union Township Trustees

township planning/zoning

Etna Township

Granville Township

Harrison Township

Jersey Township

Licking Township

Monroe Township

St. Albans Township

Union Township

LEARN ABOUT ohio sunshine laws

Ohio’s Public Records and Open Meetings laws, collectively known as the “Sunshine Laws,” give Ohioans access to government meetings and records. The Ohio Attorney General's office publishes a Sunshine Laws Manual annually, which can help answer questions about Ohio's open government laws. 


Protect your right to know

This League of Women Voters resource emphasizes the importance of transparency and the right to access information about government proceedings. It provides practical insights and tools to effectively observe public meetings, navigate public records, and engage with government agencies.  

be a part of the observers collaborative


 Observers attend public meetings in Licking County, track important issues, and make our reports public, all in the service of promoting civic understanding and transparency in government. We are non-partisan, and we do not advocate for positions or proposals. Our project is a collaboration between the League of Women Voters of Licking County and the Denison University Reporting Project. Observers complete a series of training videos, commit to ethical guidelines, and submit timely reports of meetings observed to a review team.